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WHEN PARENTS PAY FOR THEIR KIDS' SINS 
by Joseph P. Shapiro 

States are treating Mom and Dad as criminals if their children are bad 

     Little Rock Municipal Court Judge Bill Watt wistfully recalls his days as an American Graffiti-era hell raiser. "I had a Chevrolet. It looked like the family car, but it had an airplane engine under the hood. Two puffs of blue smoke and I was history." One night in 1969, he ran a police roadblock at 120 miles per hour. When he got home, his father and two policemen were waiting. "We held court at the kitchen table," Watt says, remembering how his father tore his driver's license in half. Nowadays, he frets that parents have lost control of their children. That is why Watt drags parents into his courtroom to face fines--or even jail--when their children chronically skip school. 

     Born of frustration. It is not just in Little Rock but across the country that parents are increasingly being held liable, sometimes even in a criminal sense, for the bad behavior of their children. The new laws are born of frustration as states fear their police and schools are losing a battle to control teen violence, drug use, truancy and pregnancy. The statutes, says Gary Bauer, domestic-policy adviser in the Reagan White House tell parents they have "first responsibility for what their children do." 

     Yet critics argue there is little evidence to suggest that parental-liability laws will work to curb teenage sociopathy. And history tends to bear them out. Wisconsin, for example, in 1985 passed a "grandparent-liability law" to try to reduce the state's high teen-pregnancy rate. The idea behind it was that if parents were forced to pay child support for the offspring of their teenage children, they would teach children to be responsible about sex. But a state report found the law has had minimal impact. In its first 22 months, only 21 grandparents were forced to pay but a pittance in child support, an average of $80 a month. In addition, there are constitutional questions about such laws. In May, a federal judge blocked a Washington, D.C., curfew law that would fine parents whose children under 18 are outdoors after 11 p.m. on weekdays. 


     Perhaps most troublesome is that the state often stumbles when it tries to pass judgment on how parents raise their children. The Los Angeles city attorney's office was embarrassed last month when it was forced to drop charges against the first mother charged under a new law for failing in her duties as a parent for allowing her son to be a member of a street gang. Police had shown up at the home of Gloria Williams to question her 15-year-old son about his role in the gang rape of a 12-year-old girl. But they charged Williams when they found gang memorabilia and photo albums showing her sons in gang colors, holding guns and making gang hand-signals. After her arrest, it was disclosed that Williams earlier had attended parenting classes and had been given a certificate for successfully completing the sessions. Prosecutors could argue she had been an ineffective parent, but they could no longer contend she had not tried to be a better one. 

     In Arkansas, as in several other states, the crackdown against parents was aimed at ending problems in school, rather than at criminal behavior. The State Legislature passed a measure instructing courts to fine parents if they miss certain parent-teacher conferences or if their children skip school. The law was modeled after the get-tough approach in Watt's Little Rock courtroom. He recently threatened to send Heather Lamson, 16 to a juvenile center because of her chronic school skipping. Her father, Richard, a diesel mechanic who works a midnight shift, did not know she was truant. The father, a single parent, paid a $130 fine and took away her car. Watt suspended the fine when Heather turned her low grades to A's and B's. Lamson now says he welcomed Watt's help. 

     The truth, though, is that no one is sure how to control teen violence, truancy and pregnancies. Mark Soler of the Youth Law Center, a private child-advocacy group, sees a dangerous Big Brotherism in the new parental-liability laws because they allow an intrusive state to second-guess how kids are reared. Another problem is that the new liability laws often single out poor parents, says attorney Pat DeLessio. She represented a woman who, under Wisconsin's 1988 Learnfare law, lost welfare payments when her 15-year-old daughter missed school. As a result, the family became homeless. 

     Most confusing of all is that parents are getting mixed signals about their responsibilities. The Supreme Court last month upheld the constitutionality of executing 16-year-olds convicted of murder, accepting states' arguments that youths of that age are old enough to be treated as adults. Nevertheless, while more and more judges concede they can no longer treat some teenagers as juveniles, courts and legislatures heap greater expectations--and liability--upon parents to control the same troublesome children. 

     The states' crackdown 


     Some new antiparent laws: 

     - California: Parents can be fined or jailed for allowing children to participate in gangs. 

     - Wisconsin and Hawaii: Parents can be forced to pay child support when children have babies. 

     - Arkansas: Parents can be fined when children skip school. 

     - Florida: Parents can be jailed if child hurts another with a gun left accessible by the parent. 

     - Lucas County, Ohio (Toledo): Juvenile court fines or jails parents for encouraging drug use or when children skip school. 

     - Twenty-nine states plus the District of Columbia: Have won federal waiver to evict families from public-housing projects if one one child is using or selling drugs. Many localities have similar housing policies. 
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